Navratri Colors 2018


Navratri Colors 2018

The festival of Navratri is a nine day celebration with each day dedicated to one form or avatar of Goddess Durga. It is one Hindu festival that is celebrated with a great deal of enthusiasm in every part of India. One interesting aspect of Navratri festivities is the color that is associated with each day. During the celebrations, it is a tradition among women to wear the same color as that of Navratri color of that day. From doing Navratri Puja to performing Garba dance, women (especially in Maharashtra and Gujarat) prefer donning the same Navratri color.
Every year, Navratri colors change according to the day of the week when celebrations begin. The first color is in accordance with the weekday, rest all the other eight colors follow the same previous cycle. Here is a list of the Navratri Colors 2018 for the respective nine days.

Every color and each of the nine day holds a distinct significance in Navratri celebrations.

Ghatasthapana / Pratipada - Day 1 (Royal Blue)

On the first day, devotees worship Shailputri Maa or daughter of the mountains (Shail means mountains and Putri means daughter). The first manifestation of Goddess Durga, she is Mother Nature in her absolute form. She is also worshipped as Sati, Parvati, Bhavani or Hemavati.

Dwitiya - Day 2 (Yellow)

On the second day of Navratri, Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped by the devotees. She is the second avatar of Maa Durga.

Tritiya - Day 3 ( Green)

Goddess Chandraghanta, the third form of Goddess Durga, is worshipped on the third day. She symbolizes courage and bravery and protects her devotees from any kind of distress, sin or hurdle.

Chaturthi - Day 4 (Grey)

On the fourth day of Navratri, Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped by the devotees. It is believed that she created the world with her smile. She blesses her devotees with sound health, immense strength and wealth.

Panchami - Day 5 (Orange)

Fifth day of Navratri is the day of Goddess Skandamata who is ardently worshipped by the devotees. On this day, Lalita Gauri Vrat is observed by many.

Shashti - Day 6 (White)

On the sixth day, Goddess Katyayani is worshipped by the devotees. She is the sixth form of Shakti and is one among the Warrior Goddesses. Goddess Katyayani is one of the most fierce avatars of Maa Durga.

Saptami - Day 7 (Red)

Navratri Puja on the seventh day is dedicated to Goddess Kaalratri. She is the fiercest manifestation of Goddess Durga and is the ultimate destroyer of evil and demons.

Ashtami - Day 8 (Sky Blue)

On this day, Goddess Mahagauri, the eighth form of Durga, is worshipped by the devotees. It is believed that she has the power to fulfill every wish and desire of her worshippers. If one performs Mahagauri Puja on this day, then all their problems and sufferings are eradicated.

Navami - Day 9 (Pink)

On this day, Goddess Siddhidatri is worshipped by the devotees. She is revered and worshipped as the ninth form of Goddess Durga.

Navratri Festival is a 9-day colorful and joyous festival. Know about each day of Shardiya Navratri in detail here clicking here.